Jesus lives in us through the sacraments. Our celebration of the sacraments are signs of Jesus’ presence in our lives and a means for receiving his grace. The Church celebrates seven sacraments, which are divided into three categories; Initiation, Healing and Service.

Sacraments of Initiation

A Foundation for Christian Life


Baptism is the basis of our whole Christian life. It is the gateway to life in the Catholic community which gives access to the other sacraments. Through Baptism we are freed from sin and reborn as children of God and are welcomed into the Church.

%sacramentsimage1 -alt%


Jesus said, "I am the bread of life. I am the living bread which came down from heaven. If any one eats of this bread, he will live for ever". As Catholics, we believe the Eucharist, or Holy Communion is the real presence of Jesus. As we receive Christ's Body and Blood, we also are nourished spiritually and brought closer to God.

%sacramentsimage2 -alt%


Confirmation establishes mature Catholics as full members of the Church. This sacrament is called Confirmation because the commitments given by parents and godparents in Baptism are now confirmed and made strong. At Confirmation, we renew those same commitments, this time speaking for ourselves.

%sacramentsimage3 -alt%

Sacraments of Healing

The Healing Power of Jesus


In the Sacrament of Reconciliation, also know as Penance, we ask for God's forgiveness for any offence committed against him. Through the priest's sacramental absolution, God grants us pardon and peace and we are reconciled with the Church.

%sacramentsimage4 -alt%

Anointing of the Sick

The anointing of the sick brings spiritual strength during an illness and is given to convey God's grace to the recipient, especially near the time of death.

%sacramentsimage5 -alt%

Sacraments of Service

Serving Our Community


The Sacrament of Marriage is a lasting covenant made by a man and a woman to a lifelong partnership, established for the good of the couple and the procreation and education of their children. Jesus raises the covenant of marriage to the dignity of a sacrament.

%sacramentsimage6 -alt%

Holy Orders

Jesus ordained the apostles at the Last Supper so that those who follow could share in his priesthood. We are called to Holy Orders to lead other Catholics by celebrating the Eucharist and other Sacraments and proclaiming the Gospel.

%sacramentsimage7 -alt%


Parish Sacristy
Cathy Creevey - Sacristan
Telephone: 01 8204777

Parish Secretary
Pamela Smith - Secretary
Telephone: 01 8249651
Email: secretary@hartstownparish.ie
Office Opening Times - 9:30am - 12:30am

Parish Moderator
Fr. Joe Coyne
Telephone: 087 6632944
Email: fr.joe@hartstownparish.ie

Parish Deacon
Rev. Noel McHugh and wife Paula
Telephone: 087 2261477
Email: noel@hartstownparish.ie

Parish Sister
Sr. Anne O'Sullivan
Telephone: 086 3256307